Sigurgeir Sigurjónsson - Photographer


Take a scenic tour of majestic and beautiful Iceland in pictures by bestselling author and renowned Icelandic landscape photograper Sigurgeir Sigurjónsson in his captivating books on 
Iceland.In a vivid pictorial that entwines nature and culture in a dramatic, striking and unforgettable way. His breathtaking books are peppered with Icelandic nature and culture. 
A must have souvenir or heritage keepsake.

Sigurgeir Sigurjónsson, born 1948 in Reykjavík, started to look at life through the lens of a camera
around the age of fourteen. As a teenager in the Reykjavík of the Sixties some of his earliest pictures were of his favorite bands and singers on the burgeoning music scene, which in 2010 was portrayed in his book Poppkorn. Later he discovered that investigating his country and it’s people as reflected in the art of photography was to become his future.

After studying photography in Iceland in 1965-69, he went abroad for further study at the
Christer Strömholm school of photography in Stockholm in 1970-71 and in San Diego, California in 1980-81. Since returning to Reykjavík, Sigurgeir has published numerous books of photos:
Svip-myndir in 1982, Hestar (Horses) in 1985, and his first collection of landscape photography, Landscapes in 1992.
These were followed by some of the most popular photo books about Iceland and the Icelanders ever published:


Iceland the Warm Country of the North in 1994,

Amazing Iceland in 1998,

Lost in Iceland in 2002,

Icelanders with Unnur Jökulsdóttir in 2004,

Found in Iceland 2006,

Made in Iceland 2007, 

Little big book about Iceland 2009,  

Lost in Argentina with Sæmundur Norðfjörð 2010,

Poppkorn 2010 with Einar Kárasson,

Volcano Iceland 2010 

Earthward 2011,

Iceland Small World 2012,

Planet Iceland 2014

Iceland 2015

Metamorphosis 2017


Landscapes 1992

Iceland Warm country in the North 1994

  Amazing Iceland 1998

 Lost in Iceland 2002

 Icelanders 2004

 Found in Iceland 2006

 Made in Iceland 2007

 The little big book about Iceland 2009

 Lost in Iceland 2002

 Icelanders 2004

 Down to Earth 2012